Posts by Darko_Giac

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to Excel VBA, and am trying to protect a workbook as much as I can.

I've been able to get this VBA code working (which gives the user a warning message if the workbook has been copied to another location; the file then automatically closes, rendering the workbook unusable):

What I'm trying to do is append a macro that then deletes the excel book once it has auto-closed. Something like:

However, the trouble I'm having is...I can't get these two to work together quite as smoothly as I would like. When I run the Close_Delete sub, there will be a "File Not in Location" prompt, at which point a prompt appears asking if I want to save changes before the workbook closes. The interesting thing is...whether I select "Cancel", "Save", or "Don't Save", the file closes and deletes itself.

I'm just wondering how I could revise the Close_Delete sub so that the pop-up box does not appear at all, and the workbook just closes and deletes itself after displaying the "File Not in Location" message.

Any and all suggestions are welcome. Really having a tough time with this one!

Hi Carim, thank you for the helpful tips! I was actually going to re-post with the Macro-enabled Excel workbook, but the link you provided has all the info I need to solve the issue I'm having :).

Also, I posted the VBA code separately from the workbook because I was castigated on Stack Overflow, as they said "it could be a virus for all we know". This thread was MUCH more helpful. Thanks again!

Hi all,

I've slowly been chipping away at a report generator developed in Excel (using VBA) that will allow me to generate a narrative report based on exam scores.

It seems to be working for the most part; however, what I am trying to do now is exclude sections of the narrative if scores for certain courses are not entered in the table (ie., left blank, as not all students may have taken all of the tests).