Index / Match + Sort / Filter Issue

• Hi

I have built a spreadsheet with a large data table using Index / Match formulas eg =INDEX(Workings!$GC$10:$GC$50,MATCH($C46,Workings!$R$10:$R$50,0),FALSE)

When I try to sort the table the formulas do not follow and the table is wrong. Any ideas how I can fix this so that I can sort the data?

Thanks

• Re: Index / Match + Sort / Filter Issue

Copy and paste the values to a new sheet and do your sorting and filtering there: formulae and sorting don't mix.

Ali :)

Enthusiastic self-taught user of MS Excel who's always learning!
    If anyone has helped you towards solving a problem, then you can thank them by clicking on the like icon bottom right.

:!:Forum Rules

Quote from AliGW;779973

Copy and paste the values to a new sheet and do your sorting and filtering there: formulae and sorting don't mix.

Unfortunately I can't do that. I need the table to be able to be sorted with the formulae intact. Is this possible?

I don't think so, certainly not without VBA code. You will have to wait for one of the coding experts to comment.

Ali :)

Enthusiastic self-taught user of MS Excel who's always learning!
    If anyone has helped you towards solving a problem, then you can thank them by clicking on the like icon bottom right.

:!:Forum Rules

Did you notice that the range in the Match function is not absoluted for the rows... ie.. they are missing the $ before the row indicators...

Workings!$R10:$R50 s/b Workings!$R$10:$R$50

That may mess things up...

Where there is a will there are many ways. Finding one that works for you is the challenge!

Quote from NBVC;779982

Did you notice that the range in the Match function is not absoluted for the rows... ie.. they are missing the $ before the row indicators...

Workings!$R10:$R50 s/b Workings!$R$10:$R$50

That may mess things up...

Sorry, in the actual formula it is correct. I typed the formula out and forgot to add the absolute. Will edit the original post.