Update existing data using a UserForm

• Aloha,

I am very new to VBA and have created a UserForm for adding data to a worksheet by basically cutting, pasting and editing codes that I have found by searching the internet. Therefore, I know that my command button codes are not very consistent. I have gotten to the point that I can add new records to the sheet, find an existing record and populating the data back in the UserForm, however I am now stuck at updating an existing record that I just found.

Here's what I got. The cmdUpdate_Click() area is where I'm in trouble. Instead of updating the info that I just found with cmdFind_Click(), it adds a duplicate entry with the new information. (Note I deleted some code that is working fine for dropdown lists as I didn't think you needed all that info, but if it's necessary I can paste my full code. Also my actual report has over 30 columns, I reduced it down to 4 here)

• Re: Update existing data using a UserForm

Hi Malani, - welcome to the forum

So in summary - my understanding is
    cmdFind will populate the user form with values from the database, based on the search criteria "txtReportNumber.Text"
    cmdUpdate will take the values from the user form and stick them back into the database, based on the "currentrow" variable

Your coding approach is not wrong, but it is not efficient. You use loops to loop through each row in the "FIND" procedure, which is OK, but the worst case scenario is you have check/test every single row to find the data you want to update. Using ".FIND" method on a range would be quicker as it would go directly to the correct record. However, lets try and fix what you have first before complicating matters a little.