Insert a blank row when finds one of 4 specific texts in a column of data

• Hi there

I am new to macros but have learnt a lot just by browsing the internet as people are so generous with their knowledge.

My problem is this - I have four columns of data (ie a table) and I need a macro to look down one of the columns (C) and insert an entire blank row everytime it comes across one of 4 specific texts (there are NO blank rows in the data it is looking at).

For example, column C will look like this before:

x

TextA

x

x

TextB

x

TextC

x

x

x

Text D

x

And it should look like this after:

x

TextA

x

x

TextB

x

TextC

x

x

x

TextD

x

If it helps, the data should never go beyond row 400 so getting it to stop at row 1000 is fine rather than doing the whole column.

I have found macros that will look for one text, but when I copy that for the next text string I think the blank lines already inserted mucks it up.

TextA and TextB will always appear in the column, TextC and TextD may not, so it has to be able to handle not finding it and carrying on to the end.

I hope I have described my problem clearly .

Thank you for reading this post and any help in making me look far clever than I am will be much appreciated. ;)

• Try:

You can say "THANK YOU" for help received by clicking the :thumbup: icon in the bottom right corner of the helper's post.
    Practice makes perfect. I am very far from perfect so I'm still practising.

• Hello Carim and Mumps

Thank you so much for replying so quickly.

Just before I received your replies, I found the following code to insert a row based on the value being 200 (just the example used):

It then occured to me that perhaps I could put some more if statements in to cover the three other conditions that required a row to be inserted, so I copied the 'If' and 'Then' lines, changed the If to ElseIf and substituted the 200 for my other text strings and it has worked.