search column A for keywords and put different keyword to cell to the right if found

• Hey all,

I apologize as I am very new to excel but hoping someone may have already written a scrip or macro or something that can accomplish what I'm trying to do. I have a spreadsheet and in 1 column there is a sentence in each cell. I'm basically wanting a way to search each cell in that column for a specific keyword and if found put a different keyword in the cell to the right. For example, it would search a cell for "drama, comedy, action, etc" and if found it would put the keyword "Movie" in the cell to the right. It would also search for keywords "show, sitcom, etc" and if found put "TV show" in the cell to the right. If none were found it would put "Not categorized" in the cell to the right. If it found keyword drama & sitcom it would default to the first set of keywords and put "Movie" in the cell to the right. Does this make sense? Is there a simple way to accomplish this? Please let me know if additional information is needed.

Thank you!

• Hi and Welcome to the Forum :smile:

As long as you have already established your Reference List ... a formula can handle your request ...

Best thing to do is to attach a sample file ... :wink:

If you feel like saying "Thank You" for the help received, do not hesitate to click the "Like" icon ...just below...in the bottom right corner...:)

• Hey thanks for the reply! Here is a sample I created real quick.