Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse

Count Total of Records in Text File (.txt)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Count Total of Records in Text File (.txt)

Hi all,

i am new to VBA programming kindly hlep me regarding this.

i have more than 2 lakh records in txt file
    each record is like this
    001JP 0010133 0001504612 02.05.1996 04:26:57
    001JP 0005257 0001504655 02.05.1996 04:28:04
    001GB 207103 0001508366 02.05.1996 12:46:21
    001GB 203535 0001508449 02.05.1996 13:01:43
    001JP 0010133 0001504612 02.04.1997 04:26:57
    001JP 0005257 0001504655 02.06.1997 04:28:04
    001JP 207103 0001508366 02.09.1997 12:46:21
    001GB 203535 0001508449 02.05.1997 13:01:43
    001GB 203535 0001508449 02.06.1997 22:01:03
    001JP 207103 0001508366 02.02.1998 12:46:21
    001GB 203535 0001508449 22.03.1998 13:01:43
    001GB 203535 0001508449 25.04.1998 22:01:03

i want following details of the total count from the above data to be presented in excel.

JP 1996 Total no 2
    1997 Total no 3
    1998 Total no 1
    GB 1996 Total no 2
    1997 Total no 2
    1998 Total no 1

JP means from the first record 001JP
    GB means from the thrid record 001GB

JP and GB are country names.

i want to get total how many times it has been displayed in the txt file.

i am attaching the sample txt file and also the excel file for information.

kindly help me regarding this if possible with vba code or any example.

Thanks in advance,
    regards,
    venu.
    Attached Files

Re: Count Total of no of records from txt file

Hi!

Open the text document in excel and then use the 'text to columns' tool (which should come up automatically) and check the boxes 'Space' and 'Tab' to convert all the data into columns properly.

Then you need to use a formula to add up all the data:

=SUM(IF(A$1:A$24=G3,IF(VALUE(RIGHT(D$1:D$24,4))=H3,1,0),0))

and hold CTRL+SHIFT when you hit enter!

See the attached for an example.