Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Scraping data from a website using VBA

Hi Guys,

I am a VBA newbie and hence request you to bear with me. I am trying to scrape data from different tables of a particular website: https://www.globalinnovationindex.or...=data-analysis. I did get a lot of useful codes on various forums (including this one), but am facing a problem which I am unable to solve by either web queries or VBA - when I select different parameters, the URL does not change and hence the code only fetches the data on the original page (i.e. Global Innovation Index). It is unable to fetch other parameters from the dropdown, like Government effectiveness, Press freedom etc.).

I need to fetch the data for multiple parameters in this drop down (by keeping the linkage dynamic) and input it in different sheets of an Excel workbook; this needs to be done by a single click only.

Can somebody help me out with this? The problem seems to be something similar to what teamkoso/Eric has posted in his January 2006 post here: http://www.ozgrid.com/forum/showthread.php?t=45105.

Thanks in advance.

Re: Scraping data from a website using VBA

Hi tazzy, welcome to Ozgrid

try stepping through this code with F8 to see what's happening - this should help you:

Code:
    Sub SO()

Set IE = CreateObject("InternetExplorer.Application")
    With IE
        .Visible = True
        .Navigate "https://www.globalinnovationindex.org/content.aspx?page=data-analysis"
            WaitForLoad IE

Set Opt = .Document.GetElementByID("ctl10_ctl02_lstIndex")

Opt.Value = "Input"
        Opt.OnChange
            WaitForLoad IE
        Opt.Value = "GTI"
        Opt.OnChange
            WaitForLoad IE
        Opt.Value = "Efficiency"
        Opt.OnChange
            WaitForLoad IE

Set Opt = Nothing

.Quit
    End With
    Set IE = Nothing

End Sub

Function WaitForLoad(IE As Variant)
        While IE.ReadyState <> 4
            DoEvents
        Wend
    End Function

Comment