Loading
Ozgrid Excel Help & Best Practices Forums

Excel Video Tutorials / Excel Dashboards Reports



Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Populate Cell Based On A Dropdown Selection Of Another

  1. #1
    Join Date
    22nd January 2008
    Posts
    4

    Populate Cell Based On A Dropdown Selection Of Another

    Background: I have a worksheet that I use to generate job estimates. When it comes to calulating the warranty cost we multiple the SF of the job by a predetermined figure based on the warranty type. For examle, if it is a standard 10-year warranty, the square footage is multipled by $0.04. If the warranty is a standard 15-year warranty, the square footage is multipled by $0.07, etc. Three are 10 different warranty types that have their own predetermined cost figure.

    Application: Cell A1 contains a dropdown list with all 10 warranty type options. The 10 warranty type options are pulled from a named list in another worksheet via the Data Validation routine. Cell B1 contains a locked cell, which is populated by a simple formula that pulls the square footage of the job from another part of the current worksheet. Cell C1 is the cell where we manually enter the warranty cost; $0.04, $0.07, etc. Of course, cell D1 is the cell that displays the results of its formula (B1 x C1).

    Question: How do I populate cell C1 based on the dropdown selection in A1? For example, if I select from the dropdown list in cell A1 "Standard-10" I want cell C1 to display "0.04". If I select from the dropdown list in cell A1 "Standard-15" I want cell C1 to display "0.07". I need to create about 10 such conditions. This way my basic formula to multiply cell B1 (the square footage) by C1 (the warranty cost) will be accurate, based entirely on the selection in A1 (warranty type.)

    VLOOKUP seems to work with just one option at a time and is asking for an adajent cell. I may be using it wrong. Please help.

    (Sorry for the length of this post, but I've asked for help before and I think I didn't provide enough information the first time.)

    Excel Video Tutorials / Excel Dashboards Reports


  2. #2
    Join Date
    24th January 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    31,697

  3. #3
    Join Date
    17th July 2004
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    1,939

    Re: Populate Cell Based On A Dropdown Selection Of Another

    Heres one way

    See attached
    Last edited by Bill Rockenbach; May 5th, 2009 at 10:13.
    Bill
    Tip: To avoid chasing code always use Option Explicit.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Possible Answers

  1. Update Cells Based On A Dropdown Selection
    By cam in forum EXCEL HELP
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: June 20th, 2008, 20:00
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 22nd, 2008, 09:57
  3. Populate ListBox Based on Selection in Another
    By Pedrohern in forum EXCEL HELP
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: December 20th, 2007, 17:57
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: September 12th, 2006, 14:42
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 25th, 2005, 08:53

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
porno