Loading
Ozgrid Excel Help & Best Practices Forums

Excel Video Tutorials / Excel Dashboards Reports



Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: IF Statement and Vlookup combined

  1. #1
    Join Date
    28th August 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    106

    IF Statement and Vlookup combined

    Afternoon All,

    I am having problems trying to combine a Vlookup and If statement.

    The formula I have written is: =IF(VLOOKUP(B386,Extensions!$A$4:$D$128,3,FALSE)="","",VLOOKUP(B386,Extensions!$A$4:$D$128,3,FALSE))

    The problem is that where the Vlookup does not find the entry in B386 I am getting the error "N/A" appearing. This is correct because the value in B386 (for example) does not exist in the sheet I am looking up.

    What I want to happen is that rather than "N/A" being shown I would like a blank space to be entered.

    Can anyone tell me how I can force a blank space (hence why have used "" within my formula) rather than the default "N/A" which the vlookup throws up?

    Regs

    MZP

    Excel Video Tutorials / Excel Dashboards Reports


  2. #2
    Join Date
    14th July 2004
    Posts
    10,539

    Re: IF Statement and Vlookup combined

    How about this?
    =IF(ISNA(VLOOKUP(B386,Extensions!$A$4:$D$128,3,FALSE)),"",VLOOKUP(B386,Extensions!$A$4:$D$128,3,FALSE))

    Excel Video Tutorials / Excel Dashboards Reports


  3. #3
    Join Date
    28th August 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    106

    Re: IF Statement and Vlookup combined

    This works perfectly, thank you.

    Excel Video Tutorials / Excel Dashboards Reports


  4. #4
    Join Date
    28th July 2011
    Posts
    76

    Re: IF Statement and Vlookup combined

    Hi,
    I am looking for some help with combining VLOOKUP and IF statements.
    The plan is to have a form with dependant drop down boxes that reply on data ranges however I want the data ranges to be defined in real time from another workbook. I.E. so they are not static ranges.
    Does anyone have any sugestions on how this could be achieved?

    Thanks in advance for your help.

    Dave

    Excel Video Tutorials / Excel Dashboards Reports


  5. #5
    Join Date
    24th January 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    31,716

    Re: IF Statement and Vlookup combined

    Please start your own Thread, thanks.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Possible Answers

  1. vlookup & max combined
    By kevmcl in forum EXCEL HELP
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: June 28th, 2006, 21:26
  2. if & vlookup statements combined
    By 1212 in forum EXCEL HELP
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 24th, 2006, 22:33
  3. Replies: 9
    Last Post: December 14th, 2005, 04:26
  4. IF Statement and SUMIF COMBINED?
    By sconnyite in forum EXCEL HELP
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: December 3rd, 2005, 03:49
  5. VLOOKUP and IF statement
    By TCNJ in forum EXCEL HELP
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 21st, 2005, 13:01

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
porno