Loading
Ozgrid Excel Help & Best Practices Forums

Excel Video Tutorials / Excel Dashboards Reports



Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Change Slicer Selection based on Cell Input

  1. #1
    Join Date
    27th June 2012
    Posts
    1

    Change Slicer Selection based on Cell Input

    I would like to be able to change what is selected in my slicer based on a particular cell value.

    For example, if my slicer contains the names of hundreds of sales reps, I would like to be able to type the name "John Brown" into cell A3 and have this automatically select "John Brown" in the slicer.


    Thank you very much!

    Hank

    Excel Video Tutorials / Excel Dashboards Reports


  2. #2
    Join Date
    29th October 2010
    Posts
    832

    Re: Change Slicer Selection based on Cell Input

    Excel 2010 Table, PivotTable, Slicer
    Populate Slicer with item(s) put into a Table.
    http://c3017412.r12.cf0.rackcdn.com/02_08_11.xlsm
    If you get *.zip, don't unzip, just rename *.xlsm

    Excel Video Tutorials / Excel Dashboards Reports


  3. #3
    Join Date
    5th October 2012
    Posts
    1

    Re: Change Slicer Selection based on Cell Input

    Quote Originally Posted by Herbds7 View Post
    Excel 2010 Table, PivotTable, Slicer
    Populate Slicer with item(s) put into a Table.
    http://c3017412.r12.cf0.rackcdn.com/02_08_11.xlsm
    If you get *.zip, don't unzip, just rename *.xlsm
    Hello Sir,

    This post is very helpful for me, but I have encountered an issue. This is working fine in a simple pivot table, but when I run it in Power Pivot slicers it showing Run time Error '5': Invalid procedure call or argument.

    Will you help me for do the same thing by Power Pivot table?
    I have one more question, how can we lock or disable a particular slicer selection, because I don't want user can see another state data / report?

    I am very thankful for your help.

    Regards,
    Ankur

    Excel Video Tutorials / Excel Dashboards Reports


  4. #4
    Join Date
    14th November 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    974

    Re: Change Slicer Selection based on Cell Input

    ankur_kr, welcome to Ozgrid.

    Please do not post your own question on another person's thread - this is known as thread-hijacking. Instead, please start your own thread, and if you feel it will help then feel free to provide a link back to this thread.

    Regards,

    S O
    Have-A-Read!
    ----------------------------------------------
    # WHAT HAVE YOU TRIED?
    # Excel/VBA Golden Rules [by ​Dave Hawley]
    # Excel Best Practices
    # Forum Rules
    ----------------------------------------------
    Wilde XL Solutions
    Free VBA -> HTML web formatter
    Free VBA Code snippets
    Test your regular expressions*
    ​*uses PHP RegEx - some features not supported in VBScript.RegExp


    An SQL statement walks up to two tables in a bar and asks "May I join you?"

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Possible Answers

  1. How to copy Slicer selection to a cell in Excel 2010
    By crosshairs308 in forum EXCEL HELP
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: February 11th, 2012, 01:38
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: July 29th, 2010, 16:44
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 22nd, 2008, 10:57
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 24th, 2007, 05:36
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 26th, 2003, 01:56

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
porno